my black daughters (for those women not in videos)

(photo by kwesi abbensetts)

my black daughters (for those women not in videos)

i want black daughters
black like the color of my true love’s hair
skinfolk that will sit under breezes on the other side of fences
they tend to fight harder
they tend to those who need them most
those black daughters of the dust
those dreams of julie that never made it to anyone’s screen
just my dreams

i want black daughters
jane black
revolutionary starters who get upset when they’re made the the exception
he say you look good to be dark
she blacker than her old man’s fist and stronger

a midnight blink they’ll be
my black daughters

2 thoughts on “my black daughters (for those women not in videos)

Leave a Reply

