“never forget” is unnecessary


I wasn’t a new Yorker then
I was a Floridian lost among ballot papers and black folks who would have given up on voting had the seven years that followed not been post racial
I was watching bush read to a classroom of his peers and conspiracy theories forming in the heads of mine
fuck him still
even more now because the truth has still not floated to the top like a good cheerio
I remember that breakfast
I remember that vigil
I remember moms being out of reach
when it was the fathers we should have been worried about
fore and the days after
I haven’t forgotten any of it
the worst part being awakened from a dream to deal with bullshit for years to follow

Leave a Reply

