Waiting on Rain

Image

The rain is coming in a few hours according to my iPhone weather tracking thing. And I may be the only person in Charlottesville excited about it. I’ve adapted to my West Adams area weather; the cool mornings, warm afternoons and cold nights. Maybe my attitude will change. Twice today it was boldly stated that I must take pride in talking down to others.

Taking approximately three minutes (and I know this because that’s how long it takes to cook a pack of ramen the way I like it) to reflect, I decided this: while I do take a very small amount of pleasure in speaking down to others, I also find it to be a screening tool. I decided in 2003 that I’d stop having meaningful conversations with idiots. Talking down to them, though I don’t do it intentionally, shows me who’s strong enough to last. I supposed it’s not very different from the tests I took lovers through to see if they were strong enough to meet my grandmother, or even put a kid in.

Sidenote: ignore all prepositions at the end of sentences. thanks.

Ms. Lester told me and Sylvia we were the reason students didn’t come to class. “They felt disrespected,” she said. “They’re weak,” I responded before giving an awesome rebuttal as Captain of the Thurgood Marshall Speech and Debate team during a debate about BET’s relevance in society. I didn’t last long on the debate team, just a few months, before realizing I wasn’t allowed to call my teammates idiots, and certainly wasn’t allow to attack the intelligence of those who raised them. It was a natural next step to take, though.

So I’m waiting on the rain to come so I can refocus and reshape this fucked up attitude of mine.

One thought on “Waiting on Rain

Leave a Reply

