Best Man Holiday

Image

And you will have to be fine with this:

Tonight was the first time in over 12 years I went into the theater to see a “black film” with no reservations, worries, concerns, or already knowing I’d be leaving with the feeling of giving up. No side eyes needed, I have not been silent, so this should come as no surprise. 

I was not disappointed, but inspired. I want to hunt down Theodore Witcher and beg him to do it again. Create again. No pressure. I think we can make ambitious films again.

I have only two negative things to say: y’all could have kept that Olivia Pope line; the billboards look like a Gap/Old Navy ad. 

No foolishness, no coonery, and easily a universal story. And being so emotionally invested in them (thanks to our 14 year relationship), I almost dropped fluid from my eye.

Way to go cast and crew. Now it’s time to make good “race-themed” (you will not be forgiven USA Today) film again on this side of the tracks. 

Loved It. 

4 thoughts on “Best Man Holiday

  1. Thanks for the positive review! My partner and I plan to see the film this week. Your commentary has me even more excited. 🙂

Leave a Reply

