That Street

My nose can smell honeysuckle bushes from two blocks away
I know what to do when there is no air conditioner in the summer
I run in the street chasing girls racing boys
And sit under my grandmother listening to her talk about buying fifths and playing spades
Those sticky summer nights in cut-off jean shorts because my mother forgot to pack real shorts
Grass stains no one cares about
And all the love we can stand

I wrote that last line and realized why I like drugs so much
They erase time
I have no use for clocks when I’m high like I had no use for clocks when I was nine
They bring everything and everyone I’ve ever loved back to me
And I sit under them and listen to them talk like we never stopped running up and down that street that summer

Leave a Reply

