Dead to Me.

Holding a funeral for somebody I used to know. Not because she’s dead, but because she met a dude whose insecurities won’t allow her to talk to me at all. This has happened before with another friend, and I always wonder what one must be thinking to choose insecure, insane like-love over a friend.

There is nothing you can do to make an insecure person secure. Nothing.

Her boyfriend has:

  1. Gone through her social media accounts and blocked me without her knowledge.
  2. Created a fake Google Voice number and text her as though he was me to make her think I was crazy.
  3. Called my phone over and over from the same number, just breathing into the phone.
  4. Stalked my social media pages.
  5. Added my friends on social media, asking them questions about me and her.

She loves him, though. So she must be dead to me. Funerals are hard. I’ll miss my friend.

One thought on “Dead to Me.

  1. I understand completely what you’re describing. It almost sounds like your friend is my cousin, as my cousin’s husband has done all those things you mentioned. Her husband has isolated her from the family. They have a private phone number. She only calls from the spoofed phone number (perhaps it’s a Google number). She has seen her sister and brother once or twice in the last decade, but hasn’t seen anybody else at all in that time period, and seldom talks to anybody. She’s basically dead to the family. I hadn’t seen her since we were children. Everybody suspects she is being abused by her husband. I hope your friend isn’t in physical jeopardy. But what can you do? My cousin, like your friend, chose that man and the life with that man. The sad thing is, there are thousands of people who allow a significant other to control them this way. That’s quite terrible. I miss my cousin.

Leave a Reply

